Die Afrikaanse Taalmuseum en –monument (ATM), also known as The Afrikaans Language Museum and Monument, is situated in Paarl, Western Cape, South Africa. The museum and our administrative office are in Pastorie Avenue and the monument is on Paarl Mountain.
Bertram House, situated at the top of Government Avenue in the centre of Cape Town, is set to reopen its doors to the public on 9 December 2010, after extensive renovations.
This house is the only remaining example of the English Georgian-style red brick houses that were once common in Cape Town. It was built c. 1839 by the English immigrant and notary, John Barker, who named it in memory of his first wife, Ann Bertram Findlay.
The Bo-Kaap Museum, situated in the historic area that became home to many Muslims and freed slaves after the abolition of slavery, showcases local Islamic culture and heritage. The Bo-Kaap itself is well worth a visit. Colourful houses, steep cobbled streets, the muezzin’s calls to prayer, and children traditionally dressed for Madrassa, add to this unique Cape experience.
The Burgerhuis (Burger house) - a cultural museum in Stellenbosch, the second oldest town in South Africa - is one of a group of historical buildings that surround the village green, also know as the Braak. Stellenbosch’s village green was laid out as early as 1703 as a parade ground that today lies at the heart of the oak-lined streets, water canals and beautiful white-washed Cape Dutch style buildings that are the hallmark of this beautiful town.
De Oude Drostdy was designed by the renowned Cape architect Louis Michel Thibault and built shortly after the establishment of the district and town of Tulbagh in 1804. When the seat of the landdrost moved to Worcester in 1822, De Oude Drostdy passed into private ownership.
District Six was named the Sixth Municipal District of Cape Town in 1867. Originally established as a mixed community of freed slaves, merchants, artisans, labourers and immigrants, District Six was a vibrant centre with close links to the city and the port. By the beginning of the twentieth century, however, the history of removals and marginalisation had begun.
The Drostdy was built by the Dutch East India Company in 1747 to serve as residence and official headquarters for the Landdrost. Soon after a gaol, a house for the secretary, a mill and various outbuildings were erected.
The farm, Groot Constantia, dates back to 1685, when the land was granted to Simon van der Stel – thus making it one of the oldest wine farms in South Africa. Its Orientation Centre in the Jonkershuis complex uses panel, object and archaeological displays to give an overview of Groot Constantia from the past to present, including slavery on the estate. Carriages are on display in the Coach House and in the historical wine cellar, while the Wine Museum exhibits wine storage and drinking vessels from antiquity to the early 20th century. The Manor House, with its exhibition of furniture, paintings, textiles, ceramics, brass, and copperware, provides an insight into the life of a successful 18th to late 19th century Cape farmer.
The drama of the world’s first heart transplant, led by Professor Christiaan Neethling Barnard, played out within the walls of the Charles Saint Theatre here at Groote Schuur Hospital on 3 December 1967.
The Old Harbour was proclaimed 'a Museum' in 1972. The first Curator Mr Guy Clark was appointed in 1973. The area that had been neglected for years was cleaned up and the cement work repaired. Old fishing boats were collected and repaired for outdoor display. An indoor Museum was planned and eventually built along the slopes where many old fishing shacks stood in early days.
Hout Bay Museum is a museum on Andrews Road in Hout Bay near Cape Town, South Africa. The museum has displays on the history of the Hout Bay valley and its people, focusing on forestry, mining, and the fishing industry up to modern times. The museum also organizes weekly guided nature walks into the surrounding mountains.
Irma Stern (1894-1966), a major South African artist who achieved national and international recognition in her lifetime.
The permanent collection on display shows Irma Stern's development as an artist whose subject matter included exotic figures, portraits, lush landscapes and still lifes conveyed in a variety of media, ranging from oils and water colours to gouache and charcoal.
The Mill Museum is the darling of the Cape Town Historical Society which was bequeathed the building by its heir, Myra East, in 1975.
At the time, the Mill was in a sad state of disrepair. Abandoned in the latter half of the 1930s, much of the building had lain exposed to the elements for decades. A few records hinting at its construction and workings during its illustrious years of operation between 1840 when it was built, and 1863 when its machinery fell silent inspired the society to attempt its renovation and reconstruction.
Worcester in the Breede River Valley has a rich history covering a time when the region was inhabited by indigenous hunter gathers and pastoralists followed by trekker farmers and later the introduction of commerce and industrial change.
Owing to its situation in the Breede River Valley the Worcester Museum is a cultural history museum with a strong focus on agriculture. The collections emphasise the Cape colonial history with agricultural implements, wagons, furniture, glass, ceramics, textiles and metal.
This house museum was originally built as the home for a well-to-do Cape family during the late 18th century. It houses some of the best pieces of Cape furniture and silver in the country, in addition to a priceless collection of ceramics. A household such as this would only have been able to function with its share of servants and slaves, and recent research has brought to light the names and professions of some of these, as well as the kinds of activities they would have pursued.
Situated in the hub of Cape Town on Greenmarket Square, this collection is housed in the former City Hall (the Old Town House) built in 1755 in Cape Rococo style. Donated by Sir Max Michaelis in 1914, it consists of a world-renowned selection of Nederlandish art from the seventeenth-century Golden Age. There are works by Frans Hals, Jan Steen, Jacob Ruisdal, Anthony van Dyck and numerous others.
This museum was presented to the South African National Gallery by Count Natale Labia in 1985 in memory of his parents. Count Labia donated the furniture and a collection of works of art to the museum for its permanent display area on the ground level, where the original character of the reception rooms has been retained.
The SA Navy Museum is housed in, and around, the original Dockyard Magazine/Storehouse (1743/44) which, from 1810 when the Royal Navy moved its headquarters from Cape Town to Simon’s Town, was extended to become the three-storey building it is today.
The Percy FitzPatrick Institute of African Ornithology (affectionately known as the Fitztitute) is located at the University of Cape Town, South Africa, where it is housed within the Zoology Department.
The Iziko Maritime Centre features an overview of shipping in Cape Town, and the earliest existing model of Table Bay harbour, completed in 1885 by prisoners and warders of Breakwater Prison, forms part of the exhibitions. Images depicting Table Bay from the 17th to 20th century give an idea of the development of the harbour. There is a collection of ship models and objects associated with shipping in Cape Town, in particular the era of mail-ships. Large and medium-sized images support the exhibitions, with the emphasis on the Union-Castle Line.
The SAS Somerset, is permanently moored for public viewing in the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront in Table Bay Harbour, Cape Town.
The SAS Somerset was taken over from the South African Navy on 24 May 1988. She is the only Boom Defence Vessel left in the world. While the SAS Somerset was in commission in the South African Navy her operational duties were restricted to salvage operations.
The Slave Lodge is one of the oldest buildings in Cape Town. The many names of the building over three centuries – Slave Lodge, Government Offices Building, Old Supreme Court, and SA Cultural History Museum – reflect the long and rich history of the building.
The South African Air Force Museum at Ysterplaat airbase is a must for any flying enthusiast. Exhibits include a history of aviation in South Africa, examples of military aircraft and uniforms. Entrance is free.
Open from Monday to Friday 08H00 to 15H30, Saturday 08H00 -12H30, closed on Sundays and public holidays.
The South African Jewish Museum was officially opened by Nelson Mandela in December 2000. The brainchild of Mendel Kaplan, the museum's founder and one of the benefactors, the project took about four years from planning to completion. Set in the heart of the Company's Garden in Museum Mile, it is a major attraction for local and international tourism.
The South African Museum (SAM) was established by Lord Charles Somerset in 1825, and reconstituted under a Board of Trustees in 1855. It is the country's second oldest scientific institute, the Royal Observatory having been established five years earlier, in 1820.
For every object on exhibition at the South Museum, there are thousands more carefully stored away. The Museum houses more than one and a half million specimens of scientific importance.
During the mid-eighties plans were under way to establish a police museum in Muizenberg, Cape Town. Permission was granted that the old Muizenberg Police Station and the adjoining old magistrate’s court could be used to accommodate the museum. Captain J Schreuder was appointed to begin collecting historical articles and to equip the museum full time. These activities were performed with the full cooperation of the curator of the Police Museum in Pretoria, under whose command the new museum would fall.
The South African Navy Submarine Museum is an annexe to the Naval Museum and is run by volunteers under the auspices of the Naval Heritage Trust. The boat has been refurbished and is now open to visitors. Tours through the vessel include the Forward Torpedo Room, Junior Ratings Mess, Officers Quarters, Operations Room, Control Room, Engine Room and Senior Ratings Mess. The tours are conducted by ex-submariners who served in the boat, or experienced volunteers, and their extensive knowledge adds to the authenticity of the experience. Visitors are able to get a first hand view of what life was like aboard these underwater weapons. One of only five such museums in the southern hemisphere and the only one in Africa, she is internally complete and is well worth the visit. Once on board the tour lasts for approximately an hour.
The Warrior Toy Museum in Simon’s Town houses a permanent display of 4 000 model cars, 500 dolls and teddy bears, miniature dolls houses and rooms, two fully operating railroads, lead soldier displays, Meccano, ships and many other miscellaneous toys and models. The toy museum also has a sales section for collectors. Percy van Zyl, curator of the museum, has created a haven for collectors of cars, buses, airplanes, trucks and lead soldiers.
Wellington Museum, situated in the winelands of the western Cape, 45 minutes from Cape Town, features not only the cultures of various African ethnic groups but also prides itself in having ties with countries as far afield as America, England, Scotland, France, and the Netherlands.
The Wheat Industry Museum in Moorreesburg was officially opened on 10th February 1978 after it was approved that Moorreesburg is the most suitable place for such a museum, owing to its convenient situation in the wheat area as well as the availability of the old DR Mission Church Building that could house the building. This is not only an excellent display of the history but is also used for education and other activities like music and dancing.